You can tell if someone hides their WhatsApp profile picture by looking for a blank/gray icon where their photo should be, which happens if they set privacy to "Nobody," "My Contacts Except," or deleted your contact; you'll also notice missing status/last seen, but the only definitive sign of being blocked is seeing a blank profile picture along with one-tick messages, no calls connecting, and inability to add them to groups.
WhatsApp lets users control who can see their profile photo. They can choose to show it to everyone, only contacts, or nobody. If you can't see the profile picture, it does not always mean you are blocked. The person may have changed their privacy settings.
What Happens When Someone Blocks You on WhatsApp?
You can hide your last seen and online, profile photo, about information, stories, and read receipts from other users. Someone's last seen and online, profile photo, about information, stories, or read receipts might not be visible to you because: You or the user changed your privacy settings to hide this information.
The next time you notice that you can't see a contact's profile picture on WhatsApp, don't panic. It could be due to any of the reasons we've discussed here. They might have removed their picture, adjusted their privacy settings, deleted your contact, blocked you, or could have deleted their account.
How to Know If Someone Deleted Their WhatsApp Account
To check if someone has access to your WhatsApp account via WhatsApp Web, open WhatsApp on your phone, go to the menu (the three vertical dots), then select "Linked devices". You will see a list of all active sessions. If you notice a session you don't recognize, you can disconnect it immediately.
If a person has blocked you, you will not be able to see their message read confirmation (double blue check mark). You will still be able to see message sent confirmations (single gray check mark). You can't see the contacts' statuses. You don't see updates to a contact's profile photo.
WhatsApp says that once a person has blocked you, you won't see updates to their profile. Some WhatsApp users state that they can't see the profile photos of people who've blocked them at all. Either way, if you know someone's profile photo has changed and you can't see the new photo, it's likely you're blocked.
It's not possible to see who viewed your profile. Your contacts can see your statuses, about information, links you share on your profile, and when you were last seen. Any users can add you to groups or mention you in a status.
Sign in to Google Drive using the same Google account used for backups. Install WhatsApp and verify your phone number. Follow the prompts to restore your chat history from Google Drive.
If someone has hidden you from their feed, their posts may still appear on yours. However, the frequency might drop significantly. If you notice this, especially if they're an active user, it's a possible sign that you've been hidden.
💥📁 Most people have no clue that WhatsApp secretly stores every photo, voice note, sticker, video, and even deleted files in a hidden folder on your phone 😳📱 Here's how to unlock it and see everything that's been hiding in plain sight 🔎👇 Step-by-step guide: 1️⃣ Open the Files app 2️⃣ Tap the ☰ hamburger menu (top left) ...
People can see if you view their status, unless you or they have disabled read receipts. If you don't want people to see that you've viewed their status, turn off read receipts.
You can't see who's viewed your status if either of you have turned off read receipts. You can choose who can see your status by adding them to your status audience or mentioning them in your status. By default, your status updates are shared with all your contacts. Learn more about status privacy.
5 signs your phone is possibly being tracked
They can see that you've "read" the latest message when you opened the chat. It's indicated with the 2 ticks on the message turning blue. You wouldn't see anything. If they send a message and you open the chat, they can see you've seen it because they will see 2 blue ticks on the message they sent.
You can't see the profile picture of your contact
Contacts that suddenly seem to have deleted their profile picture can indicate a block.
Navigate to privacy settings: Select "Settings", then go to "Account" and tap "Privacy". Adjust profile picture settings: Tap "Profile Picture". Select contacts: Here too, select "My contacts except..." and search for the contacts who are not allowed to see your profile picture.
Clear all chats at once