You can't permanently delete emails in Outlook because they first go to the Deleted Items folder, and then to a hidden Recoverable Items folder, requiring you to empty both or use specific recovery options; issues often stem from sync problems, large mailbox sizes, retention policies (like Litigation Hold), add-ins, or corrupted data files, which might need troubleshooting in the web app or by repairing the mailbox.
Common Reasons for Deleted Emails Coming Back in Outlook
These include: Inconsistent or inaccessible Outlook data file (OST) Improper Outlook configuration for email retention policies. Automatic email archiving which moves older emails to a separate folder.
Make sure you have enabled the option to purge deleted items when you switch folders or exit Outlook. You can do this by going to File > Options > Advanced and checking the box under Outlook start and exit or under Deleted items.
When the delete option is greyed out, it may be due to corrupted email items or sync issues. Restart Outlook and check for updates. Try running Outlook in Safe Mode to disable add-ins that might block deletion. Repair the Outlook data file (. pst/. ost) using the Inbox Repair Tool (scanpst.exe).
Here are the most common reasons why emails are not being deleted from Gmail: Sync errors: Gmail uses IMAP to sync across devices. If sync fails, your deletion action doesn't reach Google's servers.
Select Mail to display your emails. Hover over your Inbox and select More >Empty. All the email in your inbox will be moved to the Deleted Items folder. To permanently delete the messages, go to Deleted Items and select More >Empty.
Select the File > Options. Select Advanced, then under Outlook Start and Exit, select the Empty the Deleted Items folder upon exiting check box.
The Messages Were Archived, Not Deleted
If you accidentally archived the messages, rather than deleting them, the messages are not removed from your mail server. If you see the messages in the All Messages or Archive folder in your email app, the messages have been archived (not deleted).
Log in to Outlook on your browser. Click on the gear icon in the top right corner to open Settings. Go to Mail → Rules and review any auto-delete rules you've set up. Disable or delete any rules related to auto-deletion by toggling the switch or clicking the trash icon next to them.
Check your email provider's settings for steps to block unwanted emails. Try blocking specific email addresses or email domains (the part of the address after the @). Check to see how companies will use your email address. Different websites and apps handle your privacy differently.
When your messages are synced with Google backup and you don't disable this syncing before deleting the messages, they reappear on your device. Sometimes, deleted texts reappear on Android due to full Android phone's caches.
A: Your phone isn't communicating properly with your e-mail provider's server. As a result, when you delete a message, it disappears from the inbox on your phone but remains in the inbox on the mail server.
If you find that messages are returning to the Inbox after a Delete, Junk, or Archive action, it could be that your Trash, Junk (or SPAM), or Archive folders are not mapped correctly.
How to automatically remove older emails from Outlook and Exchange
If you've permanently deleted an item in Microsoft Outlook or Outlook Web App, the item is moved to a folder (Recoverable Items > Deletions) and kept there for 14 days, by default. You can change how long items are kept, up to a maximum of 30 days.
Check Your Server Settings
This includes checking the “Deleted Messages” and “Trash” folder settings to make sure they are mapped correctly. For POP accounts, verify that your email client is set to remove messages from the server after they've been downloaded.
Single email: Go to the Trash, select the email, and choose Delete in the toolbar. Multiple emails: Go to the Trash, hold Command to select the messages you want to remove, and choose Delete. All emails: Right-click the Trash, select Erase Deleted Items, and confirm with Erase.
Sometimes you cannot delete emails from Outlook as you expect because the Outlook version that you are using lags behind. You can update your Outlook app by clicking “File” > choosing “Account” or “Office Account” > selecting “Update Options” > tapping “Update Now”.
Permanently erase messages from Outlook.com
Whether you delete or archive an email message, it disappears from your inbox. A deleted message goes into the trash folder, but an archived message is defaulted to the Archive folder or All Mail on Gmail / Google Apps.
To permanently delete files from a Windows computer and make them unrecoverable:
Even if users delete emails, they are often still recoverable. Whether recovery is possible depends on the company's infrastructure and its preservation measures. Deleted emails can surface in backup systems, archives, or journaling solutions that capture communications at the point of creation.
Most of the computer programs have uninstall.exe or uninst000.exe in their installation folders.
Resolution