When you block a number on an iPhone, the caller usually hears the phone ring a few times, then the call goes directly to your voicemail, but they won't receive a notification that they've been blocked; messages and FaceTime calls are also blocked but go to a separate "Blocked Messages" section, not your regular inbox, and they can still leave a voicemail. The blocked caller doesn't know for sure they're blocked because their experience (ringing then voicemail) can also happen if your phone is off or on Do Not Disturb, but consistently hearing this is a strong indicator.
The person you blocked will not realize you blocked them when they try to call you. On their end, they'll hear the phone ring a few times. Then, their call will go straight to voicemail. Here is the one big catch with blocking someone on iPhone: Technically, they can still send you a voicemail.
Signs someone has blocked your number
When you block a call on your iPhone, it ensures that your device does not ring. It automatically rejects the incoming call. You would not even be notified at all that the contact tried reaching you.
A blocked call should go directly to their voicemail, meaning you won't even hear a ringing before it goes to voicemail. If they don't answer and the call goes directly to voicemail, it could be a sign that they have blocked your number.
A blocked number may ring only once and then go to voicemail. (NOTE: It's also possible that the person is on another call, has their phone turned off, has a low battery, or has it set to airplane mode.)
Instead, they might hear a busy signal, a single ring followed by voicemail, or an automated message indicating the call couldn't be completed. These are signs that the number has been blocked.
If you're blocked by someone, your calls will go straight to voicemail, and your voicemail messages will head to the “Blocked” section immediately. The other person won't receive your calls, won't be notified you called, and won't see a badge for your voicemail.
If the person you're calling has blocked anonymous calls, *67 won't work either. While *67 hides your number from the person you're calling, phone companies can still trace the call.
Blocked calls DO go to voicemail so you can see who's trying to call you. That could be important for a number of reasons; if someone has been mistakenly blocked, if someone is stalking you and you need to log and report it, etc.
If you've been blocked, your messages won't show a “Delivered” status or a read receipt, and you may notice the iMessage “blue-to-green” change. If your messages switch from blue (iMessage) to green (SMS), it signals that Apple's servers are no longer delivering your messages to that person's device.
When you call someone who hasn't blocked your number, you typically hear several rings before their phone goes to voicemail. When you call a number that has blocked yours, you may hear a single ring, half a ring, or even no rings at all, and then the call will go right to voicemail.
Blocked users won't get a notification that they are unblocked. If the user contacts you persistently, they may notice that their messages are now labeled as Delivered, and calls may be able to ring without going straight to voicemail. Undelivered messages and instant voicemail are ways to check if someone blocked you.
Muting helps you ignore someone without preventing them from doing anything. Blocking someone prevents them from messaging you, commenting on your observations, identifying your observations, and otherwise interacting with you on iNaturalist.
Usually people don't ignore you for a long period of time. If you absolutely need something you can still get a message through to them. Blocking shuts down all communication and anything that involves aspects of your life like social media.
If you have been blocked by someone on Android, then it is likely that you would want to text them. Unfortunately, since you have been blocked, there is no way to get your texts delivered.
It depends on your end goal. If you are doing this to get them back then just ignore. If you just want to move on then block. If your goal is to hurt them, I would advise not to.
Signs you may have been blocked
If you have an iPhone and text another iPhone but don't see a “Delivered” notification, someone may have blocked you. (Android phones don't automatically show these messages.) The same goes for if you consistently see a green text bubble instead of a blue one on your iPhone.
It's not always easy to tell when you've been blocked, but here are a few common signs:
1 Use iMessage (Change Apple ID Completely)
The first method involves creating a new Apple ID to bypass the block. Remember that the block is associated with your original Apple ID. By creating a new one, you're essentially presenting yourself as a new contact.
Blocking Someone on Android Messages and Apple iMessage
They won't know that they've been blocked. Blocking: In Messages, tap on the contact's name in Contacts, tap More, then tap “Block contact.” In iMessage, tap on their name in Contacts, then tap on “Block this caller.”
A call going directly to voicemail after just one ring can be a sign that the person you're trying to get in touch with has blocked you. If you're not blocked, you'll usually hear four to five rings before you're redirected to voicemail, depending on the recipient's device and settings.