No, pressing the WPS (Wi-Fi Protected Setup) button on your router does not turn off your Wi-Fi; it temporarily enables a quick, password-free connection method for new devices, usually for about two minutes, allowing them to join the network easily before WPS automatically deactivates for security. Pressing it just starts a short "listening" window, so if your internet stops working, there's another problem, possibly a router glitch needing a restart or a temporary issue with the WPS function itself.
The bad news is that WPS comes with several methods (the push-button method + a few other methods) including one that has recently been completely broken. So if you don't deactivate the WPS functionality on your router, your network can be hacked in just a few hours of brute force attack.
Within two minutes, press and hold the WPS button on the router for three to five seconds, or until the connection process begins.
Use the modem's Wi-Fi Protected Setup (WPS) feature
WPS lets you pair compatible devices like PCs, laptops and mobiles to your Telstra-supplied modem, without a password: On your device, go to Settings and then Wi-Fi. If your device is compatible with WPS, you can select it from the available options.
Wi-Fi Protected Setup (WPS) is a feature supplied with many routers. It is designed to make the process of connecting to a secure wireless network from a computer or other device easier.
Can't Connect to Your Printer Over Wi-Fi? Try These 6 Tricks to Get It Back Online
It's best practice to turn off WPS on your router after you've connected the devices you want. Once you're done, there's no reason to keep the button active. And this also stops strangers from using your network, who can be a threat to your cybersecurity. You really don't want to let data-stealing hackers in!
When we do a network reset so it is recommended to wait for 5 minutes for rebooting. Actually, this process can take some time like uninstalling and reinstalling network adapters. Rebooting before 5 minutes can create problem in network resetting. You have to wait for 5 minutes.
While useful in specific scenarios, its potential security flaws, such as brute-force attack risks, make it an impractical choice for long-term network management. To enhance security, many modern routers, including NETGEAR models, have WPS turned off by default.
The verdict
For most people, leaving your WiFi router on 24/7 is the way to go.
The short answer is no, not technically. Just because you're connected to your Wi-Fi router does not mean that you are also connected to the Internet. You might notice from time to time that your computer says you're connected to Wi-Fi but you are not able to access any websites or send email.
In practice, it's not recommended by either ISPs or router manufacturers. These are some of the reasons why you might be tempted to turn your broadband router off overnight: To save electricity. Even on standby, electronic devices consume power, and a router is always alert, firing out data as it receives it.
To use WPS function, please push the button for less than 5 seconds, and then the WPS LED will flash; to reset the router, please push the button for at least 10 seconds. With the Router powered on, press and hold the WPS/RESET button (more than 10 seconds) until the SYS LED becomes quick-flash from slow-flash.
Check via MOHRE:
WPS Office (an acronym for Writer, Presentation and Spreadsheets, previously known as Kingsoft Office) is an office suite for Microsoft Windows, macOS, Linux, iOS, Android, Fire OS and HarmonyOS developed by the Chinese company Kingsoft Office Software.
Does unplugging a router reset it? No, unplugging a router reboots it. Resetting your router reverts it to factory settings and erases all your custom settings (like your network name, password and IP address).
If you live in a household or have a workspace with many people, rebooting your router at least once a week will greatly improve everyone's connection as well as help your router last longer. However, if you live by yourself or with only a couple more people, a monthly reboot should be more than enough.
Potential Loss of Settings
In some cases, a reset can wipe out customized settings on your network equipment. For instance, personalized Wi-Fi names or passwords might revert to default settings, necessitating the reconfiguration of these preferences.
Press the WPS button on the device you wish to connect. Within 120 seconds, press the WPS button on the wireless router. Note: You will need to press and hold the WPS button on the wireless router for about 2-3 seconds. After a short period of time, your device and the wireless router will be connected.
Final Thoughts: Is It Worth Turning Off Your Internet While on Holiday? Yes, if you are away for more than a week and do not rely on smart devices, it is worth turning off your Wi-Fi router. You will save energy, reduce the risk of cyberattacks, prolong the life of your router, and prevent unauthorised usage.
Anything that trades security for convenience has no place in your home network. Some security devices are both secure and convenient, like Face ID, password managers, and passkeys. Wi-Fi Protected Setup (WPS) is one of these things, and it's not secure, even though the name would have you think otherwise.
Place the printer near the Wi-Fi router. Put the printer in Wi-Fi Protected Setup (WPS) mode. Printers without a touchscreen control panel: On the control panel, press and hold the Wi-Fi button for 5 seconds until the light starts flashing.
WPS is a wireless method that is used to connect certain Wi‑Fi devices, such as printers and security cameras, to the Wi‑Fi network without using any password. In addition, another way to connect is called WPS PIN; this is used by some devices to connect to the wireless network.
If your Wi-Fi password is correct but your device won't connect, first try forgetting the network and reconnecting, restarting your router/modem, and checking for router settings like MAC filtering; if that fails, try resetting network settings on your device or updating drivers, as the issue often lies in a temporary glitch, a device setting, or router configuration.