If you turn history Off, messages are deleted after 24 hours. Vault can't hold, retain, or search direct messages that are sent with history turned off. Turning history off does not hide content from scans to detect sensitive data or abuse. See “History details” below for more information.
Chat has a 30-day retention period that keeps messages for 30 days after they're deleted.
Tip: If history is off, messages are deleted after 24 hours.
Delete conversation—Permanently deletes your copy of a conversation's history. It doesn't delete the conversation from other participants' history.
Delete a sent message
On your Android device, go to a conversation and touch and hold your message. Tap Delete.
Tap and hold the message. At the top of the chats tab, tap Delete > Delete for Everyone.
You can't delete all your Facebook messages at once, but you can delete them one chat at a time. To delete a chat on Facebook, go to the chat settings and click Delete chat. To delete a chat on Messenger, swipe to the left, tap More and Delete.
Myth: When you unsend a text, the recipient will never know.
Reality: Your recipient gets a notification. Yes, you can take back a message you sent, but there's more to it.
Deleting messages changes only your own Messages conversations, not those of your recipients. Tip: Use Undo Send to retract a message you sent accidentally.
Anyone can access deleted message through a third-party app named Notification History which can be downloaded through the Google Play Store. However, there are limitations to these apps as only the messages that have generated a notification on the device, and have been seen or interacted with, can be recovered.
First of all, In clear history:— you clear all the texts when you press it but the bot stays active if that's an active bot it can still send you messages like ads or messages the bot owner wants to send. In Delete chat:— you clear the messages as well as the bot/Channel/person.
Google Chat does not have a trash folder. This means, chat messages once deleted, cannot be retrieved later.
When you message a person or group in Google Chat, you can choose to save your conversation or have it automatically deleted after 24 hours. When anyone in the chat turns history on or off: A note appears in the message stream that says history was turned on or off.
Google defended its use of "history-off chats" for many internal communications, denying the US government's allegation that it intentionally destroyed evidence needed in an antitrust case. The history-off setting causes messages to be automatically deleted within 24 hours.
Tap the triple-dot menu icon, visible in the upper-right corner of the messages screen. Select the trash bin icon. Choose the conversation you want to recover and select “Restore.”
However, just because you erase texts on Apple and Android products doesn't mean they're gone for good, according to an expert on the Apple Support Community and Business Insider. They will be hidden, but they may still be saved in system data or elsewhere with your cellphone carrier.
FAQs about Deleting Sent Text Messages on Android
You have no control over the other phone's message. If you erase it from your phone, it remains on the recipient's phone.
You can restore messages you deleted for up to 30 days. In the Messages conversation list, do one of the following: Tap Edit in the top-left corner, then tap Show Recently Deleted. Tap Filters in the top-left corner, then tap Recently Deleted.
You can only recover messages and conversations that you deleted within the last 30 to 40 days.
How to Tell if Text Messages were Deleted. To tell if text messages were deleted from your iPhone, what you will need is PhoneRescue for iOS. Because it allows you to scan your iPhone, then you can preview all messages and iMessage on your iPhone, including deleted ones.
There is no way to see if chats were deleted, unless someone saved the page before the fact.
Is it possible to delete old messages from Messenger for both sides? Of course. Nowadays, most messaging applications enable their users to recall their mistakenly-sent words within a certain period (not long in duration). For example, Facebook allows you to unsend a message within 10 minutes.
The sender of the Snap still maintains control. The sender is able to delete Snaps that they have sent to Chat that are subsequently saved in Chat. Senders can delete saved Snaps by pressing and holding the Snap in question within Chat and clicking 'Delete.