Yes, if you read a message and then turn off read receipts, the sender will still see the "Read" status (like blue ticks or "Read" notification) because the receipt was sent the moment you opened it; turning the setting off only prevents future messages from showing as read, it doesn't un-send past confirmations, according to Reddit users and Quora users. The read receipt is triggered by the action of opening the message, so disabling the feature afterward doesn't affect that recorded event.
With read receipts disabled, the sender will no longer be able see the blue ticks after you've read it. Note that this is not possible for group messages, though it is less obvious when you have read a message in these conversations because the two ticks won't turn blue until everyone has seen the message.
By doing so, you can read Messenger messages without seen for all chats. After turning off the Messenger read receipts, you won't be able to know when they've read the messages you send.
YOU MIGHT NOW KNOW THIS, but marking a message as UNREAD does not undo the read receipt. The sender will still see “seen” at the bottom of the message even if you mark the message unread. 😬 Marking a message as UNREAD simply serves as a reminder for you to get back to someone.
If you're chatting with someone who has it turned off or someone who's outside your org, you won't see read receipts from that person. You won't get a read receipt if someone sees your message in a notification or in the Activity feed. Or, if they see or respond from a banner notification.
To turn off read receipts on Android Messages, follow these steps.
One of the advantages of turning the “read receipts” off is that you can snub whoever you want and avoid to reply some certain messages you don't wish to reply On the flip side, the disadvantage also is that the person on the other end can equally do same to you without knowing as it already affects you both But when ...
Turning off read receipts is an easy way to avoid both social faux pas and being targeted by scammers and other bad actors. Apple has good guides for turning them off on iPhones, iPads, and Macs, which include instructions for turning them off system-wide as well as for specific people.
One grey tick means your message was sent but not delivered.
It could mean they've blocked you, that their phone is off or that they have no internet connection.
If you don't want others to know that you've opened their messages, you can turn off read receipts.
If you turn off read receipts after receiving a message but later enable them, the message won't suddenly show blue ticks. If you turn on read receipts but later disable them, any blue ticks that have already appeared won't turn grey.
They'll still receive the messages, but they'll check them on their own time. In Messages, you'll see a small moon icon or a message saying "notifications silenced" next to their name, indicating their current status.
No. Because there are some people who want to be able to check their messages but can't, or don't want to, immediately engage in a conversation (like if they check quickly at work but can't reply).
You can't see who's viewed your status if either of you have turned off read receipts. You can choose who can see your status by adding them to your status audience or mentioning them in your status. By default, your status updates are shared with all your contacts.
Disabling this feature hides when you've read a message. If your contacts disable their read receipts, you won't see when they read your messages, either. Keep in mind that read receipts only apply to iMessages—SMS texts never show read status.
You may want to leave read receipts turned on for most people but turned off for select contacts. Open a conversation with the person in the Messages app, then tap their profile icon and turn off the Send Read Receipts switch. You can also disable read receipts through the Contacts app.
If the person has Read Receipts turned on on their Messages app, then you will receive a notification (courtesy of them) that the message has been read. If they turn it off, then you won't receive a notification indicating that the message has been read.
In a conversation, look for nonverbal cues like breaking eye contact or having their arms crossed. If you think a friend doesn't want to talk to you anymore, observe how often they communicate with you. If they constantly cancel plans or take forever to respond to your texts, they may be pulling away.
So, to confirm if someone is reading your WhatsApp message from another device, please go to WhatsApp Settings > Linked devices. If there is an unknown device connected to your WhatsApp, remove it to stop unauthorized access.