The order of names on your Instagram story viewer list depends on the number of total views.
Generally, the accounts at the top of your story viewers list are the people who interact with your account the most, maybe they like all of your posts, comment on them, or dm you a lot or vice versa… If you scroll all the way to the bottom, you'll find the people who interact with you the least or don't follow you👀
The first 50 views on your story are sorted chronologically, with users atop the list having viewed your story most recently. After 50 views, users are sorted by engagement (who you interact with most). The people at the top of your viewer list are not your Instagram stalkers—just those you engage with most.
Your Instagram story view order gives you the list of followers and friends who have viewed your story. With Instagram's newest updates, you can see not only the people who view your story but also their reactions and the order in which viewers have seen it.
According to Instagram, the first 50 story views are categorized chronologically—filled with users who have viewed your story most recently. After the first 50 views, viewers are sorted by engagement (who you interact with most).
You can't see exactly who views your profile often due to privacy, but you can spot frequent visitors by checking your Instagram Story viewers (they often appear higher up, especially after 24 hours), watching for consistent likes/comments, looking for unknown accounts interacting, or using a business/creator account for profile visit insights (numbers, not names). Avoid third-party apps that promise to reveal stalkers as they are often fake and compromise your data.
Instagram doesn't alert you if someone takes a screenshot of your Story — or your regular post, reel, or live video. It just doesn't.
To look at who's seen your story, open your story and swipe up on the screen. You'll see the number and the Instagram usernames of the people who have viewed each photo or video in your story. If you shared your story to Facebook, scroll down see who saw your story on Facebook.
This means if you go to someone's page more often, they are more likely to show up at the top of your story viewers. This includes whether you visit their profile, see their stories, like their posts, and make comments.
You can't see exactly who searches for you on Instagram because the platform keeps profile views private for user privacy, but you can see who views your Stories, get profile visit numbers (not names) with a Professional Account, and observe who interacts with your posts or appears in "Suggested for You". Third-party apps claiming to show profile visitors are scams and should be avoided, as they compromise your account security.
And from what we've all seen, the people who watch your stories the fastest tend to appear first. So if he's consistently a first-looker, that's a pretty big clue you're on his mind. It means he isn't just finding your story hours later when he's scrolling through the app out of boredom.
First Person Point of View
In first-person narration, the narrator is a person in the story, telling the story from their own point of view. The narration usually utilizes the pronoun I (or we, if the narrator is speaking as part of a group).
If a story has less than 50 views and zero interactions (i.e. a heart emoji reaction) then the order is listed in reverse chronological order of people viewing it. However, once your story goes above 50 views it is then sorted into a list closely resembling the people you interact with most.
The one or two names that appear below your picture are also most likely the users you engage with most on Instagram. Instagram displays what it thinks you most want to see, so it will show you the users you interact with first for your likes where it says, “Liked by Your Best Friend and ### others”.
No, Instagram doesn't have an option to block or prevent screenshots of stories. However, you may limit the audience viewing your stories using the Close Friends option or keeping your account private. Disabling story sharing also doesn't allow for content to be shared. Always be cautious about what you post.
Don't worry, Instagram doesn't notify users if you screenshot their story, post, or even a DM (unless it's a disappearing photo/video in DMs).
Tap the conversation where you've sent a disappearing photo or video. You'll see the status of the content below it. If we detect someone has taken a screenshot of your photo or video, you'll see a dotted circle next to it.
You can't see a definitive list of who stalks your profile, but you can find clues by checking your Instagram story viewers list, noting who engages quickly with posts, or looking at suggested accounts to block in Privacy settings (if available) for potential lurkers. Avoid third-party apps that promise this info, as they're often scams and risk your account security.
These were the conclusions they came up with at the end of an experiment: "The list of Story viewers is shown in reverse chronological order until there have been more than 50 viewers. After 50 views, Instagram then pushes those who have interacted the most with the Instagram account at the top.
Instagram's actual tracking system
Instagram counts each view once, whatever the number of replays. Creators can't see how many times someone watched their Story.
Instagram is a great app for sharing photos and videos with friends, family, and followers, but it isn't the best for those worried about their online privacy. Currently, there is no real way to know if someone is stalking you on Instagram.
Instagram doesn't give notifications for profile views.
If you simply visit another user's Instagram profile page, the user won't know. However, certain actions will notify the user, such as viewing their Story or Highlights (within 48 hours) and liking one of their posts.
Locate the user's profile whose story you want to view anonymously. Once you are on their profile, wait for their story to appear at the top of the screen. After the story appears, turn on the Airplane mode on your device to disable the internet connection. Now, tap on the user's story and view it as you usually would.