Yes, when you block someone on Instagram, all of their previous likes and comments on your photos and videos are removed, and this action is permanent even if you unblock them later. They also lose the ability to like, comment, or message you, and they won't see your profile or posts, while you also won't see theirs.
Comments and likes are removed when you block someone on Instagram. When you block someone on Instagram, their likes and comments will be removed from your photos and videos. Unblocking someone won't restore their previous likes and comments.
Visibility of your comments and likes when you block someone on Instagram. People that you block can still see your likes and comments on posts that were shared by public accounts or accounts they follow.
Unfollowing someone on Instagram does not remove the likes you previously gave to their posts. The engagement history, including likes, remains visible on posts unless they are deleted or accounts are deactivated. Unfollowing is a private action and does not notify the unfollowed user of any changes.
Blocking someone won't remove your likes from their posts, but it will remove their likes from your posts, so it sounds like he did block them. Also see: What happens when you block someone on Instagram https://help.instagram.com/447613741984126/ Blocking People https://help.instagram.com/426700567389543/
Once you block them, that notification goes away. All that person's comments and likes also disappear from your posts!
When you block someone on Instagram, your profile becomes invisible to that user. They can no longer search for your username, visit your profile, send you messages or see any of your content from their primary or secondary accounts.
Technical glitches and user privacy settings can cause the temporary disappearance of likes. Instagram's algorithm updates may also affect visibility. Likes don't actually vanish, they are just hidden from public view. Users can choose to see likes on other's posts by clicking "and others."
Soft blocking on Instagram is a discreet way to remove someone as a follower by briefly blocking and then unblocking them, forcing them to unfollow you without sending a notification, so they stop seeing your posts in their feed but can still view your profile if they search for it directly. It's a "no-drama" alternative to a full block or unfollow, letting you reset the connection by making your content less visible to them.
You won't be able to view the total like count on another account's post if they've chosen the hide option.
Practical signs someone may have muted you
Messages remain “sent” or “delivered” but never get quick replies: If your messages consistently show delivered but the person doesn't reply for long stretches while they remain active elsewhere, muting could be the reason.
"Restrict" on Instagram is a feature that allows users to limit unwanted interactions with someone without blocking or unfollowing them. It's a more subtle way to control what users see from a specific account, and the restricted account will not be notified.
Will someone know if I unblock them? Blocked users won't get a notification that they are unblocked. If the user contacts you persistently, they may notice that their messages are now labeled as Delivered, and calls may be able to ring without going straight to voicemail.
The temporary block can last for up to 24 hours.
It can happen after using a particular feature too frequently or excessively. Also, a temporary block may be issued for violating Instagram Community Guidelines. If you think you've been temporarily blocked by mistake, you can contact support to speed things up.
The Power of Control
Blocking someone allows a person to regain control over their interactions and creates a safe space free from unwanted engagement. According to psychological research, control is a basic human need. People derive a sense of security when they can dictate the terms of their digital interactions.
First, If you can see their tweets on their profile but don't show up in your timeline, they've likely soft blocked you.
No, they are not. Instagram made it possible for users to choose between the options to hide like counts on all posts in your feed or only hide like counts on your own post. This simply means that your followers won't see your likes, but you can still see how many likes your own posts get.
So, unfollowing does not remove likes, comments and messages but blocking does.
Hide the like and share count of posts you see
Blocking someone on social media is not immature—it's a form of self-respect. If you don't like what someone is doing but they're being good to you. Communicate your issue so they get a proper warning. That gives them a chance to stop doing what they're doing and apologize.
Soft Block on Instagram: A More Subtle Option
Search for their account.
To start a search, tap the search icon and enter their username. You can also search online by adding their username to instagram.com/username . If their account is private and you don't see any results when you search, you've been blocked.