The "24 hour rule" on Snapchat refers to several default settings where content is automatically deleted after a 24-hour period. This applies to different types of content:
In one-on-one and Group conversations, Chats are automatically deleted by default 24 hours after everyone in the conversation has viewed the Chat on the Snapchat mobile or web app or 31 days after the Chat was sent, whichever is sooner.
Wait for a few hours to let the streak end and the ⌛️ (hourglass emoji) will go away. If you don't care about the snapstreak, don't do anything at all. The ⌛️ will disappear once you fail to send a snap over the next 4 hours or so. With longer streaks, this can take up to a few days.
Snapchat's servers are designed to automatically delete all one-to-one and Group Chat Snaps after they've been viewed by all recipients. However, you, your friends, or group members can set Snaps to delete after 24 hours for all infinite timer, loop, and bounce Snaps in your conversation.
Snaps on My Story normally delete after 24 hours, but as a Snapchat+ subscriber, you can choose when your Snaps on My Story expire with My Story Timer. You can set a Snap to expire after 1 hour, 6 hours, 12 hours, 24 hours, 2 days, 3 days, or 1 week.
Turn disappearing messages on or off by default
Once turned on, all new individual chats will deafults to using disappearing messages set to the duration you select. > Settings > Privacy. Tap Default message timer. Select 24 hours, 7 days, 90 days, or Off.
Tap the clock icon to choose how long your friends can view your Snap. You can choose between 1–10 seconds, or let them view it for as long as they'd like. Keep in mind that your Snap can always be saved by taking a screenshot.
If at least 1 recipient doesn't open the Snap, it only remains on Snap Inc's servers for up to 30 days and if the Snap has been posted to the user's “Story”, it will be deleted after 24 hours. Similarly, the police will only be able to access Chat content if you or the recipient have chosen to save it.
For security reasons, we have protections in place to ensure account actions are not taken by an unauthorized user, so if you're asked to wait 72 hours before trying to delete your account again, be sure to do so using the same device. Follow these steps to delete your account: Log in to the Snapchat accounts portal.
On Snapchat, 🔥 (fire emoji) with a number means you have a Snapstreak, indicating how many consecutive days you and a friend have sent each other Snaps; the ⏳ (hourglass emoji) means your Snapstreak is about to end (within four hours), prompting you to send a Snap to keep it going, or you'll lose it.
When someone peeks at a conversation you're a part of, you'll see the eyes emoji next to the conversation in your Chat feed. If you're in the Chat while they're peeking, their Bitmoji will appear at the side of the screen.
Snapstreaks expire if both users don't send a message within a 24-hour window. If a Snapstreak is about to expire, a ⌛️ emoji will appear next to the chat, warning the users to send a message right away to avoid losing their streak.
While all Snapchat users can see who viewed their Story or took screenshot, Snapchat+ users also get a Rewatch Indicator on Snapchat Stories. The Rewatch Indicator tells users how many times other Snapchatters have rewatched their Stories.
Snapchat is unable to provide copies of Snaps to Snapchatters. Delete is our default. Which means opened or expired Snaps typically cannot be retrieved from Snapchat's servers by anyone, for any reason. In most cases, opened Snaps are automatically deleted once they have been viewed or have expired.
Deleting a chat only deletes it from your inbox, and won't delete it from other people's inboxes.
The SCA mandates that we disclose certain Snapchat account records only in response to specific types of legal process, including subpoenas, court orders and search warrants.
We do not monitor or use any private content or communications you send to your friends to personalize your experience, make recommendations, or show you ads, and will only review them in the limited circumstance that it's flagged for violating our Community Guidelines, or if you otherwise ask us to (for example, if ...
Law enforcement can access Snapchat content, including 'My Eyes Only,' typically through legal processes like warrants. Snapchat's encryption protects data, but with proper authorization, police may request data from Snapchat or use device access methods.
Yes, social media posts—including Snapchat messages and TikTok comments—can be introduced as valid evidence in court.
On Snapchat, the 🔥 Fire emoji means you're on a Snapstreak, sending Snaps back and forth daily, with the number beside it showing days; the ⌛️ Hourglass emoji means your streak is about to end in less than four hours, prompting you to send a Snap quickly to keep it going.
The hourglass emoji (⏳) on Snapchat means your Snapstreak is about to end, giving you roughly 4 hours to send a Snap to keep it going, though it appears once you're within the final hours (e.g., 20-24 hours since the last snap) and disappears once a snap is sent, with users reporting varying experiences. You and your friend must exchange a photo or video Snap within that 24-hour window to maintain the streak.