When you block someone, they generally won't get a direct notification, but their calls go to voicemail (ringing a few times first) and texts seem to send but never arrive on your end, leading them to infer they're blocked, especially if iMessages switch to green SMS or show "Not Delivered". The experience varies by platform (phone, social media, email), but the key is that communication attempts are silently rerouted or dropped, and they'll notice the lack of response.
No, blocked contacts are not notified. Their calls will go straight to voicemail, and texts will appear to send as normal (but you won't receive them).
SMS messages that aren't delivered usually say “Message Not Delivered” underneath the green bubble. A sudden switch from blue to green could simply mean a user has their phone in airplane mode or switched to an Android device. However, when combined with other signs, it could be an indicator you've been blocked.
They don't receive any notification. What they see or hear when calling depends on the app being used. Calling someone who has blocked you will result in an engaged tone or ``caller unavailable'' message depending on network. For text messages, the text could appear to have been sent but will not be received.
When you block a phone number or contact, they can still leave a voicemail, but you won't get a notification. Messages that are sent or received won't be delivered. Also, the contact won't get a notification that the call or message was blocked.
There's no way to see texts from blocked contacts. However, you can try contacting your mobile network carrier to see if you can access your message logs through them. Verizon, for instance, lets you download mobile, text and data usage details for the last 90 days. Call logs are also not visible for blocked numbers.
It depends on your end goal. If you are doing this to get them back then just ignore. If you just want to move on then block. If your goal is to hurt them, I would advise not to.
The person you blocked will not realize you blocked them when they try to call you. On their end, they'll hear the phone ring a few times. Then, their call will go straight to voicemail. Here is the one big catch with blocking someone on iPhone: Technically, they can still send you a voicemail.
Signs you may have been blocked
If you have an iPhone and text another iPhone but don't see a “Delivered” notification, someone may have blocked you. (Android phones don't automatically show these messages.) The same goes for if you consistently see a green text bubble instead of a blue one on your iPhone.
We can't tell you if you're being blocked by someone, and WhatsApp can't remove blocks on your behalf.
If your text messages aren't going through, it could mean the intended recipient has blocked your number. Most devices and messaging platforms indicate undelivered messages with a “Not Delivered” status message or a symbol, like a red exclamation point.
The person who has blocked you will never see messages or calls from you. If a person unblocks you, messages are not resent. They will never see information that you sent while they had you blocked.
If they share a server with you, yes. Blocking doesn't affect anything that they can see, and only prevents them from sending you a friend request or DM, or adding reactions to your messages.
Ultimately, the choice between Instagram Restrict and Block depends on your desired level of interaction and visibility. If you prefer a more subtle approach that maintains some semblance of engagement, Restrict is your go-to.
The straightforward answer: No, you cannot view blocked messages on iPhone once they've been blocked. Apple doesn't store them in a secret folder.
Muting, hiding or restricting can provide good alternatives to blocking because abusers do not know that they've been muted, hidden, or restricted. Ultimately, only you can decide what feels right for you.
An easy way of knowing you've been blocked is to send a message with read receipts on. If the message doesn't say delivered that means you're blocked. Calling is slightly different, it rings a couple times and goes to voicemail. You can leave a message which they will get but they won't receive a notification for it.
Muting helps you ignore someone without preventing them from doing anything. Blocking someone prevents them from messaging you, commenting on your observations, identifying your observations, and otherwise interacting with you on iNaturalist.
Generally, you won't see texts from a blocked number because they're silenced, but on Android, they often go to a "Spam & Blocked" folder in your Messages app; on iPhone, texts are usually lost, but you might find missed calls in a "Blocked Messages" or "Blocked Calls" section of your voicemail, as blocked calls often go to a separate voicemail box.
The only way to see a call history from a blocked number is to unblock the number. They will be added to your regular call list, and you will be able to see any missed calls you receive from the number. However, they will be able to contact you again. Consider if it's worth your privacy.
If a person blocks you on iMessage, then they won't get any of your texts at all.
When someone that you've blocked texts you, their texts go nowhere. They won't receive any notification that they're blocked, and their messages will still look like they've been sent. But you won't receive any of them, and you can't respond.
Blocking someone allows a person to regain control over their interactions and creates a safe space free from unwanted engagement. According to psychological research, control is a basic human need. People derive a sense of security when they can dictate the terms of their digital interactions.
Blocking someone on social media is not immature—it's a form of self-respect. If you don't like what someone is doing but they're being good to you. Communicate your issue so they get a proper warning. That gives them a chance to stop doing what they're doing and apologize.
The purpose of blocking is to even out your stitches and make your finished knit as attractive as possible. For plain stockinette (stocking) stitch you want to pin the edges to prevent curling and even the stitches.