When someone blocks you, texts you send often stop showing "Delivered" or "Read" receipts on iPhones, may change from blue (iMessage) to green (SMS) and say "Message Not Delivered" on iPhones, or simply remain unsent on your end without a clear status, while on Android, it's harder to tell as they usually just don't deliver and show no status. The messages don't reach the blocked person's phone, but your phone might still show them as sent.
Signs you may have been blocked
Here are a few signs that someone may have blocked your number: You don't get a delivery confirmation. If you have an iPhone and text another iPhone but don't see a “Delivered” notification, someone may have blocked you. (Android phones don't automatically show these messages.)
SMS messages that aren't delivered usually say “Message Not Delivered” underneath the green bubble. A sudden switch from blue to green could simply mean a user has their phone in airplane mode or switched to an Android device. However, when combined with other signs, it could be an indicator you've been blocked.
When you text someone who blocked you, the message generally sends from your end but is blocked from reaching the recipient; you typically won't get an error message, but you won't see a "Delivered" notification (on iPhones, it might stay blue but lack delivery confirmation, while on Android, it might show "Not Delivered" or just hang, but you can't know for sure without them telling you or trying other methods like calls to voicemail or different apps).
If you've been using iMessage with another iPhone user, your text bubbles are blue. If someone blocks you through iMessage, your texts will appear as green — the same bubble color you'll see in a thread with a non-iPhone user.
If you've been blocked, your messages won't show a “Delivered” status or a read receipt, and you may notice the iMessage “blue-to-green” change.
SMS is a cellular carrier technology where Apple controls iMessage. If a person blocks you on iMessage, then they won't get any of your texts at all.
If the person you're calling has blocked anonymous calls, *67 won't work either. While *67 hides your number from the person you're calling, phone companies can still trace the call.
The answer is no. If you have a contact the blocked then it doesn't allow any messages through. After it's unblocked there's no messages to see because they were blocked.
An easy way of knowing you've been blocked is to send a message with read receipts on. If the message doesn't say delivered that means you're blocked. Calling is slightly different, it rings a couple times and goes to voicemail. You can leave a message which they will get but they won't receive a notification for it.
Texting a Blocked Number: What Will Happen? If you text someone who blocked you, you won't see an alert that you've been blocked, but they won't get your text. If you usually see "Delivered" when you text them but don't see it now, or their message bubbles are suddenly green instead of blue, you may be blocked.
Once a number is blocked, any text messages or iMessages sent from that contact will not be delivered to your device. Instead, they'll be silently intercepted and discarded by Apple's servers. You won't receive any notifications, and the messages won't appear in your inbox.
If this happens once or twice, it may just be that the person you're calling has enabled Airplane Mode or Do Not Disturb settings. However, if you've called multiple times over a longer time period and consistently get sent to voicemail without the phone ringing normally, it's a strong clue that you've been blocked.
You can also use *82 to unblock your number in case your call gets rejected temporarily.
Use caller ID blocking to hide your number
The simplest and most common way to call someone who's blocked you is by hiding your caller ID. When you do this, your call appears as “Private,” “Unknown,” or “No Caller ID” on the recipient's screen.
Method 1: Using caller ID restriction. Method 2: contacting through a different phone number. Method 3: Sending text messages or emails.
If your number is blocked and you attempt to send an iMessage to the recipient who blocked you, the blue bubble will still appear and it will look like your message actually was sent (although it won't show a “Delivered” confirmation).
Muting helps you ignore someone without preventing them from doing anything. Blocking someone prevents them from messaging you, commenting on your observations, identifying your observations, and otherwise interacting with you on iNaturalist.
Check the chat bubble color
This is only true if both of you use iMessage on iPhones. This isn't a foolproof method. You may see a green bubble in the following situations: If the other person switched to an Android phone, their bubble may have turned green.
iMessage won't deliver on iPhone
iMessage includes delivery statuses and read receipts, so you can see whether your message went through. If your texts consistently show no delivery, it may be a sign you've been blocked. If your message goes through, you'll see Delivered beneath it.
The owner of the blocked number won't get notified, but if they try to contact you, they might see signs such as calls not going through for a long period, the SMS delivery status showing their messages as undelivered, or the status not showing at all, depending on which SMS app and phone they're using.