In general, archive emails that you think you may need to go back and look at in the future, and delete the ones you're sure you'll never need again.
You can always find the email again in the future – it's not gone forever as it would be if you deleted it. Another handy feature of archiving emails is that if someone does reply to that email, it will return to your inbox – it won't be lingering in the archive unnecessarily.
The difference between archive and delete in Gmail is that your deleted email will disappear from your mailbox after thirty days. Gmail archive instead of delete means you will be able to retrieve an email whenever you want. Before deleting, be 100% certain you won't need it.
Email archiving is the process of securely storing emails, making it easy to search for and retrieve them. It's a fast, reliable, and scalable solution to storing essential emails while reducing the load on mail servers. It helps store old emails that you don't need immediate access to, but don't want to delete.
Deleted emails are permanently removed from your account and free up storage space. Archived emails are still stored in your account but moved to a different location. They don't take up space in your inbox but still count toward your total storage allowance.
Gmail keeps your archived emails indefinitely or until you delete them. Only messages that are deleted are removed from the Trash after 30 days. How do I retrieve archived emails? If a message has been archived, you can find it by opening the “All Mail” label.
Even emails that contain information about everyday workplace matters, such as sickness records or maternity pay, are required to be kept for 3 years. Many businesses will find that, because of these legal provisions, it is safest to keep emails for around 7 years.
The Archive folder is no different than any other folder that you might create and has no abilities beyond any other folder. So, the answer is that your messages will stay in the Archive folder just as long as they'd stay in the Inbox folder; that is, they'll be there until you move them elsewhere or delete them.
The key reason to archive your documents is to avoid losing data. All documents are vulnerable to being destroyed or corrupted (if digital), either maliciously, by accident, or by a natural disaster, such as a flood or fire. Electronic documents can be compromised by: security threats.
Archive purpose is to reduce the number of lost documents in order to improve productivity. Data archiving lowers the cost of primary storage, which is often expensive. These data will subsequently be kept in less expensive forms of storage.
Archive older items – Move old items you want to keep to an archive. You can create a separate Outlook Data File (. pst) that you can open from Outlook any time you need it. By default, Outlook automatically archives items at a regular interval.
You can use the Archive button in the Delete group on the ribbon to move one or more messages to your Archive folder without deleting them. There are several benefits to using Archive.
Archiving emails is a way to move them out of your inbox and into a hidden folder, without deleting them. This can help you organize your inbox and reduce clutter, but it does not free up any space.
Outlook Archive (and AutoArchive) moves older email, task and calendar items to an archive folder, which is stored in another location on your hard drive. Technically, archiving transfers older items from the main . pst file into a separate archive. pst file that you can open from Outlook any time you need it.
By archiving email to the In-place archive you can thus free up disk space on the user's computer. This will also help with reducing the loading time of Outlook. And it also helps with cleaning up the mailbox, because by default Outlook only searches in the primary mailbox.
By default, if Cached Exchange Mode is enabled, you will only be able to view messages from the last 12 months. This keeps the Outlook file smaller which allows you to browse your email faster.
Searching for emails older than 10 years: Type "10 years" in the From: field, followed by hitting enter. Then select Search Messages Older Than from the menu bar above. Scroll down until you see 2016 and click Go. Looking for emails older than 20 years: Enter "20 years" in the From: field, followed by hitting enter.
A deleted message goes into the trash folder, but an archived message is defaulted to the Archive folder or All Mail on Gmail / Google Apps. Depending on your email provider or company's policy, your deleted messages may be permanently purged from your trash folder automatically (often after 30 days).
Archived emails disappear from your Gmail Inbox and stay forever in All Mails label until you manually delete them. These archived emails can be easily found under “All Mails” label in Gmail. You can also use Gmail filters to easily find specific archived emails.
If you want to clean up your inbox without deleting your emails, you can archive or mute them. Your emails are moved to a label called "All Mail." When you archive a message: The message will come back to your inbox when someone replies to it.
Archived messages are usually saved in physical storage, in another part of the inbox, on a server or in the cloud. This will depend on the email service you're using and if any additional software is being used with it.