Blocking someone on Messenger is generally permanent until you choose to unblock them, but you cannot re-block someone for 48 hours after unblocking them, and Facebook may issue temporary blocks (hours to 30 days) for policy violations that affect your ability to interact with others. For a personal block, the user remains blocked indefinitely unless you manually unblock them, which then enforces a temporary 48-hour cooldown before you can block them again.
The length of a temporary block by Facebook depends on the severity of the violation and the user's history on Facebook. It has been observed that a temporary block may last as little as a few hours, but could also last up to 30 days. There is currently no way to view the duration of the block.
When you block someone's Facebook profile on Messenger, it also blocks their profile on Facebook. They won't be able to message, call or find your profile on Messenger or Facebook chat. If you're Facebook friends, blocking them also unfriends them. Profiles won't be notified when you block them.
If you find yourself in a situation that feels unsafe for any reason, don't hesitate to use the “block” function, Gottsman says. Not only will this unfriend a person, but it will also prevent them from sending you future requests or messages or even seeing your profile.
In fact, you can still search for the contact that has blocked you in the app and send them messages – they simply won't receive them. Instead, you'll need to do a little bit of detective work to find out if the person in question has decided they've had enough contact with you.
No, you cannot see who specifically views your personal Facebook profile or page, and any third-party apps claiming to offer this are fake and potentially harmful; however, for business Pages, you can see general visitor numbers in Meta Business Suite, and you can infer activity from who interacts with your posts, but you can't see lurkers.
Blocking: Incoming calls and texts from the blocked number are automatically declined and not received. Unblocking: After unblocking, you can receive messages, but any messages sent while the number was blocked will not be visible or retrievable.
Feeling like you have 'moved on' is a very different feeling from having access blocked. If your blocking is a way to protect yourself from incoming disturbances that you feel might deter you from focusing on yourself, then blocking can have a positive function.
To permanently delete Messenger messages from both sides, you must delete the conversation, but the other person will still have the messages unless they delete them too.
However, the big distinction is that, unlike with a Block, Ignore will still let them see your profile and activity and allow them to send you messages (which you won't know about unless you unhide them).
Facebook enforces a 48-hour waiting period before you can reblock someone to prevent misuse of the blocking feature. This cooldown helps reduce harassment and spam. If you see this notification, wait the full period before attempting again. To manage blocked users, access Settings > Privacy > Blocking.
In conclusion, the Restrict feature on Messenger is a great way to limit unwanted interactions with specific individuals without blocking them. By restricting someone, you won't receive new notifications from them, won't see their chat in the main list, and your online status won't be visible to them.
The two components of the Facebook Messenger 24+1 rule:
A business may send a user as many messages as it wants within 24h of the user's last interaction, such as clicking a Quick-reply, a button that triggers a message or types a message. After the 24h, the business may send the user one more message.
Technically, they can still send an SMS message to your phone number, and they'll see the regular delivery status at their end, just like with any other texts they send. But you won't receive the message in your phone's main SMS inbox, essentially blocking the contact at your end.
They might want to evoke a response from you. Their behavior of blocking and unblocking might confuse you, but by doing this, they are trying to control your mind and stimulate your responses by playing psychological games.
Comments and likes are removed when you block someone on Instagram. When you block someone on Instagram, their likes and comments will be removed from your photos and videos. Unblocking someone won't restore their previous likes and comments.
No, people can't see if you look at their profile.
Some users suggest that you'll appear on a user's "People you may know" friend suggestion if you look at a person's profile. Others suggest it only appears if you have your location services on and your devices appear online nearby one another.
Can You See Who Has Unfriended Me on Facebook? Facebook does not provide a built-in way to track who unfriends you on the platform; users do not get notifications when someone unfriends them. However, you can find out by either manually checking your friends list or using third-party applications.
If you see "This person is unavailable on Messenger" when you open a chat, they've likely blocked you on Facebook, which also blocks you on Messenger. If you try to send a message and get a notice that the other user isn't accepting messages, you've likely been blocked on Messenger.
Nobody gets notified when anybody else blocks us but if a person is blocked then they can not see the profile of the person that blocked them. If they don't go looking at your profile specifically they may think you are still friends but they just haven't seen any posts from you in a while.
You can send messages whether you are friends or not. If you aren't friends, it will come across as “message request” and that is hard to see unless you know what to look for. If it says “unavailable” they have either blocked you or they have deleted messenger.