To unsend a message on iPhone (iOS 16+), open the conversation, touch and hold the message bubble within 2 minutes of sending, then tap Undo Send, which removes it from both your and the recipient's devices, showing a notification instead. This feature works for iMessages and requires both you and the recipient to have iOS 16 or later for it to work fully.
Unsend a message
You can undo a recently sent message for up to 2 minutes after sending it. Go to the Messages app on your iPhone. Touch and hold the message bubble, then tap Undo Send. A note confirming that you unsent the message appears in both conversation transcripts: yours and your recipient's.
Unsend a message
If you decide you don't want to send an email, you have a short time after to cancel it. Right after you send a message, you can retract it: In the bottom left, you'll see "Message sent" and the option to "Undo" or "View message".
You can only unsend texts on iPhone if you and the recipient have iOS 16 or later. If the recipient has an older iOS version, they'll still be able to see the original text. To unsend a message, tap and hold the message. Tap Unsend.
You can delete a text you sent if you act quickly (usually within minutes) and use specific apps like iMessage (on iOS 16+) or Google Messages (for RCS chats), but for standard SMS texts or once the other person has the message, you generally can't delete it from their device, only yours, unless you use third-party apps with unsend features.
Unsend messages on your iPhone or iPad with iOS 16 or later
In Messages, tap a conversation. Touch and hold the message you want to unsend. Tap Undo Send.
Yes, photos, videos, and audio messages can also be unsent using the same “Undo Send” feature. But here's the catch: If the recipient has already opened or auto-downloaded the media, they may still have a local copy, even if you unsend it.
You can delete text messages, attachments, and entire conversations from your iPhone anytime, without affecting what your recipients see. Tip: Use Undo send to retract (within 2 minutes) a message you sent accidentally, deleting it from both your phone and your recipient's phone.
Unsending a message is a feature that lets you remove a message from both your and the recipient's chat. In contrast, removing a message with the Delete feature only removes the message from your chat and not the recipient's chat. The differences between unsending and deleting a message are as follows.
From Chats, open a Messenger conversation. Tap and hold the message that you'd like to unsend and select More. Tap Remove.
No, the "unsend" feature only works within a set time frame, which is usually a few seconds to a few minutes depending on your settings. After that, the email will be delivered to the recipient's inbox and cannot be retracted. So it's best to use this feature as soon as possible if you need to recall an email.
The unsend feature for iMessage requires iOS 16 or later, and both sender and recipient must have compatible devices. Users have a two-minute window to unsend messages, after which the message becomes permanent in the chat.
If you are using Google Messages, deleting a message you have sent does not delete it for the recipient of the message.
Delete a scheduled message
Go to the conversation with the scheduled message you want to delete. If you don't see your message, scroll down to the bottom of the conversation. Scheduled messages may appear below sent messages. Touch and hold the message you want to cancel, then tap Delete.
In addition to the requirement of having iOS 16 to 'unsend' a message using an iOS device, Apple advises in Use Messages on your iPhone or iPad - Apple Support that "If you unsend a message to someone on an older version of iOS, iPad OS, or macOS, your contact might still see the message."
How to unsend a message. The unsend option is available for only two minutes after you send an iMessage.
Here are some general methods:
You can delete a text you sent if you act quickly (usually within minutes) and use specific apps like iMessage (on iOS 16+) or Google Messages (for RCS chats), but for standard SMS texts or once the other person has the message, you generally can't delete it from their device, only yours, unless you use third-party apps with unsend features.
If we do need to apologize, “an apology sooner rather than later goes a long way,” says Hoerr. If we've committed a bigger offense, we should take ownership of what occurred. For instance, Hoerr suggests we might say something like, "'That was wrong of me. I'm so sorry if that had a negative impact.
No, deleting a message from your device after sending it will not delete it from the recipient's device. . Once a message is sent, it is delivered to the recipient's device and stored there independently. Deleting the message on your end only removes it from your own device.