Yes, Google removes illegal content, but the process is complex, involving both specific legal requests (like copyright) and internal policies against harmful content (like child exploitation), often applying removals by country where laws differ, using technology and human reviewers to enforce policies across its products like Search, YouTube, and Maps. They respond to legal orders and enforce their own terms, balancing free expression with safety, but won't typically remove search results just because you don't like them if the content is public, though they do remove certain personal info like SSNs or medical records.
Keeping over five billion devices safer.
Google Safe Browsing helps protect over five billion devices every day by showing warnings to users when they attempt to navigate to dangerous sites or download dangerous files.
On Google Search, Safesearch attempts to identify and filter inappropriate content. Filter: Blocks all explicit results. This is the default setting when Google's systems indicate that you may be under 18.
If the page is no longer available, it will no longer appear in Search results. If the page is still available but changed, it will remove the snippet from Search results, but will be refreshed the next time Google's crawler visits the page. Until that time, the page can still appear in Search results.
Police must typically obtain a search warrant to access your Google search history. This warrant must be approved by a judge and supported by probable cause, meaning there's a reasonable basis to believe evidence of a crime may be found in your search records.
And most of the time people can do so without expecting the Department of Justice to come knocking. But deleting digital data—including clearing browser history—can result in federal felony obstruction of justice charges under 18 U.S.C.
Privacy advocates like the Electronic Frontier Foundation argue against this, but the law has not changed. The FBI can look at your search history if it has the opportunity, and it will undoubtedly take advantage of that if you are a person of interest.
Types of content you can ask to be removed
Information retained until your Google Account is deleted
We keep some data for the life of your Google Account if it's useful for helping us understand how users interact with our features and how we can improve our services.
Removing a Google search result takes 3-4 weeks in most cases, however in some conditions it can be removed within several days. In more complex matters it can take up to 60 days for Google to make a determination.
How to Bypass Internet Filters?
The new NordVPN Adult Site blocking feature uses DNS-based blocking to filter out thousands of unsafe domains, such as adult websites, before they can load on your device.
2. Using Chrome or other mobile browsers:
Typically, we remove or restrict access to the content only in the country/region where it is deemed to be illegal. When content is found to violate Google's content or product policies or Terms of Service, however, we typically remove or restrict access globally.
Brave is one of the safest browsers on the market today. It blocks privacy-invasive ads & trackers. It blocks third-party data storage. It protects from browser fingerprinting.
While using the dark web may seem suspect on the surface, it is perfectly legal, and there are many legitimate uses of Tor and anonymous browsing.
Can anyone see what you search for on Google? If you've wondered “Can anyone see my search history?”, the answer is yes. The search engine itself, your web browser, your internet service provider (ISP), some advertisers, website owners, app owners, and, in some cases, authorities can see what you search for on Google.
Is Google 100% accurate? No Google is not 100% accurate. While it strives to provide the most relevant and reliable information it can still return incorrect or misleading results.
Think deleting your old social media accounts, emails, or online subscriptions means your data is gone forever? Think again. Even when you delete an account, companies rarely erase your data completely. Instead, it lingers on their servers—accessible to advertisers, data brokers, and even hackers.
How To Delete Digital Footprint (14 Ways)
To permanently delete files from a Windows computer and make them unrecoverable:
Once online, it is online forever. While that is more of a precaution than a hard and fast rule, it is often something we believe. But if you've ever read something and then tried to find it again a decade later, you know first-hand how content that is born digital can become unavailable.
Chrome, the browser, indeed doesn't save your browsing history in incognito mode. But Google, the search engine and advertising company, will continue to track your online activity as usual, even when you're using incognito mode.
Turn "Do Not Track" on or off
Yes, depending on how your internet is monitored, your parents can potentially see your search history even if you delete it. If they have access to your devices, they might use parenting controls to track your internet activity, even if it was deleted.