Yes, parents can monitor and manage their children's TikTok usage through the built-in Family Pairing feature, which links parent and child accounts to control screen time, restrict content, manage privacy settings (like who can message or comment), and monitor activity, with third-party apps offering even deeper oversight.
You can control who contacts your child on TikTok through Family Pairing. Teens can also customise their contact preferences on their profile, which parents can review through Family Pairing. This can help you have important conversations around online safety.
How to turn on Restricted Mode on TikTok
TikTok's Family Pairing function lets parents link their TikTok accounts with those of their children. After this connection is established, parents can view and activate multiple content and privacy control settings, including: Daily screen time: Set time limits for TikTok.
With FamilyTime, monitor your kids' TikTok experience and decide content they may watch without pairing the TikTok app. FamilyTime allows you to: Monitor the list of the channels that your kids visit on a certain day. Check the video history to see the film's metadata and what your children have watched.
Parent guidance:
If your child is younger than 13, strongly consider not allowing them a public-facing TikTok account, or only allow under very strict supervision. Even at 13-15, monitor their usage, feed, connections and posted content.
You can choose to turn your profile view history on or off. Turning off profile view history means you won't see who has viewed your profile, and others won't see that you've viewed theirs. 1. In the TikTok app, tap Profile at the bottom.
Restricted Mode can be turned on or off at any time. Parents and guardians can also manage Restricted Mode for their teens through Family Pairing.
Information TikTok collects
You could also unwittingly provide sensitive information in direct messages. As well, if you take a photo of a document or a place that has sensitive information and store it on your cellphone. Even if you don't conscientiously share it with TikTok, the app has access to it.
Manage your teen's account
As a parent or guardian, you can use Family Pairing on TikTok to customize safety settings for your teen based on individual needs. Everyone on TikTok, including your teen, can unpublish their account by deactivating or permanently deleting their account.
TikTok tracks which pages you visit and your interactions with the content. It notices which videos you view and save in “My favorites.” TikTok even collects data on your browsing and search history, going so far as to record keystroke patterns.
If they're using an Android system, they can hide it with the following steps (only on some models): Open the app menu > Tap the three dots in the upper-right corner > Tap “Home Screen Settings” or “Settings” Select “Hide Apps” > Choose what apps you want to hide.
What is the 3 Second Rule? The 3 second rule refers to the critical timeframe in which viewers are initially exposed to your TikTok content. This brief window is vital for enticing viewers to watch the entire video. If you fail to grab their interest quickly, they are likely to scroll past your content.
Once you've signed up, TikTok also collects data about your preferences and activities based on the videos you screen. It knows your IP address, search history, the content of your messages, which device you are using to view TikTok, what exactly you are looking at, and how long you spend viewing videos.
As teens start to build a presence online, it's important for them to learn about and review their privacy settings and controls. TikTok accounts are available for people at least 13 years old (or other ages as indicated in our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service).
The following are the worst social media platforms for mental health (with caveats when necessary).
TikTok often requests access to your microphone, camera, contacts, and location. Some of these permissions are necessary for certain features, but others are not essential for using the app. You can reduce exposure by: Disabling location access.
Age-restricted content on TikTok may include content with mature or complex themes that may not be suitable for a wide audience. Only adults 18 years and older can view content that we classify as age-restricted content.
How to turn Restricted Mode on or off
Your TikTok search history is only visible to you within the app, but TikTok uses that data to personalize your feed and content recommendations. While TikTok is generally safe, it may collect search behavior for analytics and advertising purposes.