Yes, in most messaging apps like WhatsApp and Signal, either person in a one-on-one chat can turn off disappearing messages, and group admins can control this for groups (though settings can be changed). If one person turns them off, it stops the timer for new messages, but messages already sent before the change might still disappear, depending on the platform, though some allow keeping messages.
Anyone in the chat can disable disappearing messages at any time. You can keep specific messages to stop them from disappearing, as long as the duration time hasn't passed.
Disappearing messages disappear for both senders and recipients, including messages you send to yourself. After the disappearing messages setting is enabled for a group chat, new messages will disappear.
Firstly, they are appealing to users who have a growing concern about their digital footprint. Secondly, ephemeral messaging allows users to be more spontaneous, letting them engage more freely without the fear of long-term consequences or scrutiny.
Is It Rude to Turn on Disappearing Messages? No, it's your choice. No matter if you talk with a friend, or you start a new conversation, you may not want to keep some personal or sensitive information. So you might turn on Disappearing Messages.
Verdict. Message deletion can be innocent—but sudden, repetitive, or secretive deletion is one of the strongest cheating red flags today. It often signals that your partner wants to erase conversations that would upset you.
Yes, you can turn off vanish mode even if the other person started it. Since vanish mode works for both users in the chat, anyone can swipe up and exit vanish mode at any time. Once one person disables it, the mode ends for both users. A notification will appear in the chat saying the mode is off.
About kept messages
You can turn on disappearing messages in personal chats and in groups by default. However, group admins can change the settings to restrict this to admins only.
Your screen will turn darker, and you'll see a notification saying Disappearing message that lets you and the other participant know Vanish mode is active. You can now chat as normal, except your messages vanish once they're seen and the chat is exited.
But if data is truly destroyed, it can't be compromised, even if it was once available on your personal device, or the device of the person you were talking with. So one way to reduce the scope of this overreach is with a data retention/destruction policy, such as the disappearing messages feature.
Tap Messages at the bottom. Tap the conversation where you've sent a disappearing photo or video. You'll see the status of the content below it. If we detect someone has taken a screenshot of your photo or video, you'll see a dotted circle next to it.
Recipients also won't be able to take a screenshot or screen recording of your view once media. It's still possible for someone to take a photo or video of the media, for example with a camera or another device, before it disappears.
How to Know If Someone Deleted Their WhatsApp Account
But in Vanish Mode DMs, it alerts you the moment someone takes a screenshot. This helps you keep private chats under control. Messenger has a Vanish Mode where screenshots are flagged. If someone captures your disappearing messages, you'll see a notification right inside the chat.
In my opinion, as a content creator & sex worker, people usually only create disappearing chats when they have a significant other and don't want them to find out. But I think you probably already know the answer if someone is hiding their messages intentionally, it's never going be good.
If you decide to disable disappearing messages, you won't have the option to keep them.
Vanish mode is no longer supported, but you can still use disappearing messages. Disappearing messages are gradually being introduced and may not be available to you yet. It is different from sending media that can only be viewed once.
You'll get a notification on Instagram if someone sends you a message in vanish mode.
The "3-day rule" in texting and dating generally suggests waiting three days to contact someone after getting their number or a first date to avoid seeming too eager or desperate, but many modern daters find it outdated, preferring to text when genuinely interested to show confidence and avoid "playing games". While some still use it as a way to gauge interest or create space, others see waiting too long as a sign of disinterest, with opinions varying on whether it's helpful or an old-fashioned tactic.
Here's a list of seven symptoms that call for attention.
The Red Flag emoji 🚩, officially known as Triangular Flag, depicts a triangular red flag on a pole. Because a triangular red flag is often used to signal danger, this emoji is commonly used to refer to dangerous situations or to warn people of bad ideas or potential problems.