Yes, Jews can eat peanuts, but there's a significant debate and custom difference regarding Passover, where traditional Ashkenazi Jews often avoid them as kitniyot (legumes), while many others, including Sephardic Jews and some modern Ashkenazim, permit them, especially if certified or processed separately. Outside of Passover, peanuts are generally kosher and acceptable, though any preparation with non-kosher ingredients or on shared equipment requires kosher certification, as with any food.
The Kashrut Laws cover the type of animals a Jew can eat; how they are prepared; the prohibition of consuming blood and certain forbidden fats and sinews; the prohibition of consuming flies and insects, the mixing of meat and milk and many other aspects of diet and food preparation.
These foods - like rice, corn, legumes (beans, lentils, and soybeans), and peanuts (also a legume) - were classified as closely related to chametz, and therefore potentially confusing to people trying to observe the holiday. In other words, they became forbidden by association.
That's because peanuts are legumes, and way back in the 13th century the rabbis, using a mind-boggling rationale, determined that legumes, along with rice, corn, and a host of other foods called kitniyot, were forbidden (although I clearly remember peanut oil in my mother's kitchen — yet another one of those head- ...
∎ Nuts Raw, whether they are Slivered, Whole or Chopped Nuts (e.g., almonds, pine nuts, walnuts, etc.) without preservatives or other additives, such as BHT or BHA in corn oil, are approved for Passover.
Fruit: apples, banana, carob seed pod (bokser, also called St John's bread), dates, dried fruit such as apricots, prunes, raisins, fruit compote, fruit soup, avocado, figs, grapes, honeydew melon, olives, oranges, peaches, pear, pineapple, pomegranates, watermelon.
Traditionally, the category of forbidden foods on Passover — known as hametz — was defined as the fermented products of five grains: wheat, spelt, barley, oats and rye.
This decision has been made after thorough consideration and in alignment with national kosher standards. Despite rigorous washing procedures, the ORB and other kashrus agencies around the country are not confident that all insects can be removed from fresh broccoli.
Ashkenazic tradition has historically also prohibited kitniyot: rice, corn, soy, millet, beans, peas and pretty much any other legume, or anything deriving from those products, like corn syrup, tofu or soy oil.
Why would peanut butter before bed help you fall asleep? There are a couple reasons. Peanut butter contains tryptophan which is a precursor to serotonin which can have a calming effect on your brain. It is also high in healthy fats which can help stabilize your blood sugar.
Jews have been eating eggs for thousands of years. How many of us have ever wondered whether the eggs we bought at the local grocer came from a Kosher bird? The Shulchan Aruch1 states that only eggs which are pointy on one side and round on the other side can be considered Kosher.
In Israel, most branches are non-kosher since they serve cheeseburgers (which are non-kosher, i.e. do not conform to traditional Jewish dietary law) by special request (they are not on the menu) and serve milk-based desserts (ice cream, milkshakes).
First and foremost, it's important to note that any nut in its natural state is kosher for Passover. This means that plain, unprocessed nuts such as almonds, walnuts, brazil nuts, raw cashews, pecans, and pistachios are all acceptable to eat during Passover without any special Passover certification or concerns.
Bananas have long been embraced by some Jewish communities. Jewish chefs in Persia and Afghanistan pass down traditional recipes for charoset, the sweet paste eaten at the Passover Seder, that incorporate bananas as key ingredients.
The Ten Commandments of Judaism
You shall not make for yourself a carved image (idol), or bow down to any idol. You shall not take the name of the Lord your God in vain. Remember the Sabbath day, to keep it holy. Honor your father and your mother.
Grapes themselves have no special kosher considerations, but wine, grape juice, and other grape products are some of the most highly kosher-sensitive. All grape juice, grape wines or brandies must be prepared under strict Orthodox rabbinic supervision and may not be handled by non-Jews.
The Torah forbids eating meat and dairy products together as well as cooking or preparing them together so a kosher pizza can never contain meat. And there are very strict laws governing the type of cheese that can be used to make a kosher pizza.
Honey is kosher flower nectar, which enters the bee's honey sac and is transformed into honey. The second opinion in the Gemara permits honey because of a g'zeiras hakasuv, a deduction from a pasuk. Therefore, the halacha is that honey is kosher despite the fact that it comes from the non-kosher honeybee.
Certified kosher salt is mined, just like all other types of salt. The difference is that the mining, processing, and packaging happens under strict Jewish guidelines. This means that no additives or chemical elements are added to the salt that may go against the kosher tradition.
Each berry should be individually inspected for holes or other indications of worms. INSPECTION: Cultivated blueberries should be placed in a strainer or colander and washed thoroughly under running water. Wild blueberries must be carefully examined after washing.
Fruit-base often contains carmine, a non-kosher deep-red color derived from insects. Non-kosher grape juice concentrates are used in some yogurt fruit bases, as are various other highly kosher-sensitive ingredients.
To Jews who eat kitniyot, legumes are considered kosher for Passover. Chickpeas, a type of legume, is the main ingredient in hummus. Pasta is typically made from wheat, and even gluten-free varieties do not automatically get a kosher for Passover seal of approval.
During the weeklong holiday, Jews abstain from chametz foods, which refers to leavened grains. So, while ice cream flavored with cookie dough or brownie pieces may be kosher most of the year, those add-ins render it forbidden during Passover.
The list of forbidden (non-kosher) foods according to Kashrut laws includes several categories:
In this latter category are baking soda, baking powder and yeast that is not made from wheat or barley. Yeast? Yes, even yeast can be kosher for Passover.