Compose your message as you would normally, then tap the Send button. In our case, the message showed as Sent (it has a circle next to it with a tick inside) but just stayed in that state permanently. Blocked messages are indefinitely shown as Sent and never delivered.
If a person is bothering you a lot and you no longer want to be associated with them, you can Ignore the messages. Ignore is a harsh form of mute but a subtle form of Block basically, without the other person knowing about it. You cannot Ignore Group messages. Furthermore, you cannot mute an Ignored chat thread.
Android users may determine if someone has blocked their number by checking notifications. If the “sent” icon changes to “delivered,” the receiver is likely not blocked you. On the other hand, if it stays on “sent,” there's a good chance they have blocked your number.
First things first: people are not notified when you block them. As soon as you block someone on iPhone, they lose the ability to text or call you. Except the blocking happens at the level of your device. So the person who was blocked won't know they're blocked when they try to call you.
How to know if someone blocked or restricted you on Messenger? A blocked person's message won't get delivered, so they see an empty circle with a checkmark. In contrast, a restricted person may see a filled circle with a checkmark that indicates the message has been delivered but won't get the read receipt.
When you ignore a conversation, you won't be notified when the person messages you directly, and the conversation will move to your connection requests. When you ignore a conversation, the person won't be notified.
: A blue circle with a check means that your message has been sent. : A filled-in blue circle with a check means that your message has been delivered. : A small version of someone's profile picture will appear below the message when they've seen it.
If you send a message to someone and the message is not delivered, meaning that only an unfilled check mark icon appears, it generally means one of two things: The user has not logged into Facebook. The user has blocked you on Messenger.
Typically, the message doesn't get delivered instantly due to some delay in the network and issues with connection requests. It could be a poor internet connection, a Messenger server problem, or a recipient's connection and lack of data storage space.
The most common issue of failed delivery of text messages is blocked Phone Numbers. You can try as many times as you want to send the messages but as long as the recipient has blocked your phone number on their phone, all your effort is in vain. There are a number of reasons for people to block others' phone numbers.
Empty circle with a check mark: The message has been sent but not delivered to the recipient. Filled circle with a check mark: The message has been delivered.
It is possible the person you are unable to contact might have deactivated their Facebook or Messenger account, or their account has been terminated by Facebook. Since the account no longer exists, Facebook displays this message to indicate the person is no longer available.
Unfortunately, since you have been blocked, there is no way to get your texts delivered. However, there are some sidesteps that you can try to text someone who blocked you on Android. Another way to text someone who blocked you on Android is to use an anonymous texting service. As you can tell by the name.
If you restrict someone: You won't get notifications when they message you, and your phone won't ring when they call you. You won't be able to call or message them.
Blocking someone means they can't see your timeline, message you, tag you, and send you friend requests. You won't see their activity either. This is what most people miss: People who are blocked can still see your public information and any activity within apps or groups.
If an Android user has blocked you, Lavelle says, “your text messages will go through as usual; they just won't be delivered to the Android user.” It's the same as an iPhone, but without the “delivered” notification (or lack thereof) to clue you in.
Blocking Someone on Android Messages and Apple iMessage
These messages will not show up on your phone but the sender will see the messages as sent. They won't know that they've been blocked.
Your previous messages between yourself and the person you're blocking won't be deleted, so you have to manually delete those messages if you don't want them. There could be a number of reasons why you choose to block someone on Messenger, including: You're getting spam messages or Facebook messenger scams sent to you.
If the iMessage never shows a “Delivered” or “Read” message, and it's still blue, then you may have been blocked – but not always. If the iMessage goes through and shows a “Read” receipt, then you have definitely not been blocked.
If you haven't been blocked, the status will read "Delivered." And if the person has enabled read receipts, it will later turn to "Read" once they open the message. A red flag that you've been blocked is when you don't see the delivery status or the read receipt at all.
The easiest way to check whether you've been blocked on Messenger but not on Facebook is to use the mobile app and check whether or not a message gets through. If it doesn't, you can then check if that person is still on Facebook. If they are, then they've blocked you on Messenger only.
Messenger uses small, circular icons that show up in the lower right the message window. If a friend has read your message, you'll see a miniature version of their profile picture. If they haven't, you'll see a blue icon with a white checkmark indicating the message has been delivered, but not yet read.