We use a blend including canola and sunflower oils to cook with. Like all vegetable oils, it's cholesterol free and has 85% less trans-fat than our previous blend.
Once in our kitchens, we cook them in our canola-blend oil so you can have them crispy and hot—just the way you like them. Want to hear more about our fry ingredients? Get the down low on how we flavor our fries.
Our legendary, super-tasty French fries are the perfect side to any meal. We only use the highest quality potatoes to create those delicious strands of crispy fluffiness that you love, now fried in a superior and healthier blend including canola and sunflower oils.
Ingredients: Potatoes, Vegetable Oil (canola Oil, Corn Oil, Soybean Oil, Hydrogenated Soybean Oil, Natural Beef Flavor [wheat And Milk Derivatives]*), Dextrose, Sodium Acid Pyrophosphate (maintain Color), Salt.
No. Our fries are not coated in any fats or substances from an animal.
In the 1990s, as health concerns over saturated fat reached an all-time high, McDonald's faced a backlash against the use of beef tallow, and worried about losing customers, the chain switched to vegetable oil. Unfortunately, many customers said the new texture and taste weren't up to the mark.
Beef tallow was eliminated from the famous French fry formula and replaced with 100% vegetable oil. The results were French fries with zero cholesterol and 45% less fat per serving than before, but also a plummet in stock prices and countless consumers saddened by a drop in flavor.
Unfortunately, no McDonald's menu items are certified as vegan or vegetarian. While some ingredients may not contain animal ingredients, we cannot guarantee that there will be no cross-contamination of ingredients during transportation, storage or preparation in our kitchens.
Are McDonald's Fries vegetarian or vegan in Australia? Yes! The ingredients list for Australia is one of the cleanest: Potato, canola oil, mineral salt (450), dextrose, antifoam (1521). So these fries are vegetarian and vegan in Australia!
It uses safflower oil, but does not include natural beef flavour, hydrolyzed wheat or hydrolyzed milk in its Canuck formulation. The fast food chain told Global News it's taking on the “Our Food. Your Questions” campaign to “reclaim the truth.”
KFC said that after a two-year trial of various cooking oils, it settled on low linolenic soybean oil, a zero trans-fat cooking oil, to replace partially hydrogenated soybean oil in its U.S. restaurants.
Describing how they make it they said: "We take our bespoke vegan Quorn fillet (made from Mycoprotein), coat it in the Colonel's secret blend of 11 Herbs and Spices, and fry it in vegetable oil before it comes to our restaurants.
The fries are not coated in any fats or substances from an animal. Once at the restaurant, our fries are simply cooked in dedicated frying vats in a non-hydrogenated blend of sunflower and rapeseed oil which is 100 percent suitable for vegans.
Foreseeing a need for more heart-healthy foods, McDonald's® teams with Cargill to develop a new high oleic oil blend, free of trans fats.
Those eggs contain sodium acid pyrophosophate, citric acid, and monosodium phosphate, for color, as well as carrageenan, modified foot starch, and soybean oil for texture. The eggs also have soy lethicin to prevent the eggs from sticking to pans while cooking.
We don't use hydrogenated vegetable oil - we only use non-hydrogenated vegetable cooking oils in our restaurants.
But are the chips in KFC vegan? Unfortunately, KFC chips aren't vegan. They're cooked in the same oil as some of the chicken fryers, preventing them from being vegan; this is why the KFC vegan meal is only a burger and a drink.
Order without dipping sauces—none of them are vegan. Make it a plant-based combo meal (includes KFC Secret Recipe Fries which have zero animal ingredients, plus a medium drink). Order without dipping sauces—none of them are vegan.
KFC Australia has launched its first ever plant-based option — Wicked Popcorn. The meat-free bites are made with pea protein and feature the same spice mix as the chain's Wicked Wings. Wicked Popcorn is available in a box, a bowl, or as a Combo option with fries and a drink.
The short answer here is, no, McDonald's Hash Browns are not vegan. But, why not, you might ask. After all, hash browns are just potatoes and potatoes are vegan, so, what's the problem? Simply put, their Hash Browns contain natural beef flavoring and dairy.
There are plenty of vegan drinks on the menu, including: Buxton water. Tropicana Orange Juice. Coca Cola.
One contains animal milk, the other does not. As the onion rings are cooked in the same oil as chicken products, they would not be considered vegan irrespective of the milk ingredient.
McDonald's wanted to keep its signature beefy flavor but without the beef fat itself, so it came up with a solution. Now the fast-food chain adds “natural beef flavor” to its vegetable oil to give its fries their irresistibly meaty taste.
According to McDonald's, blanching also eliminates enzymatic activity which prevents spoilage and develops a fluffy interior, similar to a baked potato, for better texture. French fries are seen in an ingredient bath in this video released by McDonald's showing how their food is made.