New Year's Day 2017, 2018 and onwards

Next Holiday : Australia Day »

New Year’s Day Australia : January 1

New Year's Day in Australia is celebrated on January 1 each year in all states and territories. New Year’s Day is a national public holiday in Australia. If January 1 is a Saturday or Sunday, the first working day following it, is considered to be an official holiday.


The celebrations for New Year’s Day actually start on New Year’s Eve when people come together and remember the past year and prepare for the countdown to the New Year. At 12 o clock midnight bottles of Champaign are popped to toast on the New Year, fireworks are lit and people hug and kiss to wish each other a Happy New Year. See below the dates of New Year’s Day in Australia for 2014 and onwards.


HolidayDateWeek numberDays to go
New Year's Day 2017January 2, 2017 Monday01-
New Year's Day 2018January 1, 2018 Monday01315
New Year's Day 2019January 1, 2019 Tuesday01680
New Year's Day 2020January 1, 2020 Wednesday011045
New Year's Day 2021January 1, 2021 Friday531411
New Year's Day 2022January 3, 2022 Monday011778
New Year's Day 2023January 2, 2023 Monday012142
New Year's Day 2024January 1, 2024 Monday012506
New Year's Day 2025January 1, 2025 Wednesday012872
New Year's Day 2026January 1, 2026 Thursday013237
New Year's Day 2027January 1, 2027 Friday533602
New Year's Day 2028January 3, 2028 Monday013969
New Year's Day 2029January 1, 2029 Monday014333
New Year's Day 2030January 1, 2030 Tuesday014698
New Year's Day 2031January 1, 2031 Wednesday015063

Share this page on Facebook!




Monday 20

February 2017

Birthday Fact Finder

Find out curious facts about your birthday. Enter your date: